THE ONE WHEN ITS AN ADVENT CHALLENGE

MVLIVING, personal, Uncategorized

aa4aaf37ae10e40c1e3d4bc7ac8f584f

A good friend and Ate of mine challenged me to post up a blog entry for every week during the advent season, and I must say, I am pretty stoked about it. So, for the next couple of weeks, I will post up my advent reflections on here.

Just by staring at the screen I can’t hardly realise yet, that it is December. It’s the last month of the year and it’s Christmas really soon. With Uni’s workload and all other huge events that are coming up, I really am concerned that I won’t get into the real Christmas feel. Have you ever gone through a time, where you were just focussed on particular things and completely blend out everything else around you? That’s what I go through now, with all the clutter in my mind. That’s why I am quite relieved that I get to do this Advent Reflection because I have no other choice than to reflect. To be honest, I don’t really know what’s going to happen in a few weeks. I don’t have any expectations on how the Christmas festivities will be and how I’ll welcome the New Year. I don’t even know what I wish for Christmas. Just to be completely blunt, I don’t know anything. Maybe during this Advent Season, I should challenge myself to reflect even more on things that aren’t related to school, work or stress. Maybe what I need are just off days where I can completely fall into meditation and think about life. Maybe I should just include the guy up there more into my daily life and share it with Him.

All I pray for this Advent is that I might find peace within my heart and know that whatever will happen, will happen through Him. I pray, that I can wholeheartedly be happy for the things that are occurring at the moment because I am where I am supposed to be right now. I pray, that throughout these upcoming weeks, I might find the joy and the excitment for everything that’s to come. I pray, that I truly open my heart to this Advent season, so it can become another memorable one.

What do you wish and pray for this Advent?

Yours candidly, Ezzy.

One thought on “THE ONE WHEN ITS AN ADVENT CHALLENGE

  1. Oh I know that “longing-fo-dat-feel”. It seems like Christmas as a child was more magical – because of the candies, the presents, the adults that spoil us, etc.

    But I think there is a greater reward in “actually knowing Christmas”. Knowing Christmas means fully realizing what it is all about amidst all trials, emptiness and noise. In his book “Jesus of Nazareth – the Prologue”, Joseph Ratzinger explains that even though the shepherds saw a child in swaddling clothes in a manger (which, superficially speaking, isn’t exactly a sign of shining splendor) this very sign was more than enough for them to know that God has come for us and lived with us.

    I see that you have surrendered yourself to God for this Advent – which is a great posture, in fact the best posture for this season.

    May you be touched by the Lord just like the shepherds. =)
    God bless

Leave a Reply

